

M.E.M.R.L.T.A. INC.



Midweek Eastern Metropolitan Region Ladies' Tennis Association Incorporated

President: Christine Youings Secretary: Fiona Dwyer

9800 1875

THE 39th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF M.E.M.R.L.T.A. INC.

Will be held at 7.30pm on TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 23rd, (VIA ZOOM)

It is recommended that you bring either your 2019/2020 Fixture /By-lawbook or phone (to be able to access our Website, with you to refer to alterations to existing By-laws.

Each Club should be represented at the A.G.M. by TWO voting delegates. Additional members are most welcome to attend

Remember that a \$20 fine applies to a Club not represented at the A.G.M.

AGENDA:

- APOLOGIES
- MINUTES OF 38thZOOM A.G.M. 2020(Please download from our Website
- o BUSINESS ARISING
- PRESIDENT'S REPORT
- TREASURER'S REPORT
- APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR
- SETTING OF AFFILIATION FEES AND HONOURIUMS
- AMENDMENTS TO RULES
- ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS
- CONDOLENCES
- GENERAL BUSINESS

AMENDMENTS TO THE BY-LAWS:-

All Amendments that were submitted by the Executive Committee and Kooyong, in the original Agenda, have now been withdrawn and will be resubmitted at next year's AGM. We thank Kooyong for agreeing to withdraw their amendment and to resubmit it next year.

AMENDMENTS TO MEMRLTA'S RULES OF ASSOCIATION:-

The following minor Rules of Association changes have been submitted by the Executive Committee.

'Statement of Rules':-

Currently the Statement of Rule 2(1) reads –

"summertennis season" is the season commencing in August/September of any year,

"winter season" is the season commencing in March/April and of any year,

It is proposed to change this to-

'summer tennis season' is the season commencing in August/September/October of any year.

"wintertennisseason" is the season commencing in March/April/Mayof any year.

Supporting Statement: This change will give us more flexibility in setting starting and ending dates for each season, which in particular will reduce the need to schedule matches close to Christmas and on the first day of Term 1.

The following Rules of Association change has been submitted by the Executive Committee.

Rule 28 (4) reads: "Each officer of the Association shall hold office until the annual general meeting next after the date of her election but is eligible for re-election except that the Secretary shall not hold office for more than five consecutive years and any other officer shall not hold office for more than three consecutive years."

It is proposed to change this to: "Each officer of the Association shall hold office until the annual general meeting next after the date of her election but is eligible for re-election except that the Secretary **and Record Secretaries** shall not hold office for more than five consecutive years and any other officer shall not hold office for more than three consecutive years."

Supporting Statement: The Record Secretary, like the Secretary, is an admin position requiring much time to train and acquire experience. It also requires a certain amount of confidence and skill in using a computer, which not everyone has. By allowing a Record Secretary to hold office for up to five years instead of only three, this change to the Rules will give us more flexibility in filling this position and allow the holder to gain more experience.

NOMINATIONS FOR EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR 2021/2022

President:	Christine Youings	St Andrews Gardiner	Eileen Johnson	Christine Shearer	
Vice President:	Fiona Dwyer	East Burwood	Joy Meyer	Christine Youings	
Secretary:	Helen Williams	Camberwell Utd	Anne Sewell	Karyn Hannant	
Treasurer:	Ros Brereton	Parker Reserve	Lynette Whiteley Barb Catto		
Record Secretary:	Hope Stewart	East Camberwell	Helen Bell	Kerry Webster	
Committee:	Jackie Aslett	Legend Park	Jenny Neilson	Diane Turnbull	
	Wendy O'Connor	UCTC	Jan Sayers	Fiona Shelton	
	Christine Shearer	St Andrews Gardiner	Kaylene Ellis	Eileen Johnson	
	Fiona Shelton	UCTC	Wendy O'Con	Wendy O'Connor Jan Sayers	